senior couple

News & Events

We're here when you need us. Call today!

What is the Last Stage of Paralysis?

What is the Last Stage of Paralysis?

Complete paralysis is the most severe type of paralysis. When completely paralyzed, the person cannot move, control, or feel anything in their muscles. People with partial paralysis, on the other hand, can move some of the muscles in the parts of their bodies that are affected.

Complete quadriplegia, also called tetraplegia, is caused by neurological damage and involves the inability to move the body from the neck down. However, paralysis is typically more severe in the limbs.

Various factors can cause quadriplegia. The most common causes of quadriplegia involve:

Road accidents
Injuries (contact sports injuries, falls, gunshot wounds)
Traumatic brain injury
Spinal cord injury
Cerebral palsy
Central nervous system infection
Multiple sclerosis
Traumatic brain injury
Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis
Bacterial infections such as post-polio syndrome or Lyme disease