senior couple

News & Events

We're here when you need us. Call today!


What Are The 3 Stages Of Death?

What Are The 3 Stages Of Death?

The three stages of death are commonly referred to as pre-active, active, and post-active. The pre-active stage is characterized by physical and emotional changes such as decreased appetite, increased sleepiness, and decreased communication. The active stage is marked by physical changes, such as breathing and heart rate changes, and the post-active stage refers to the period after death.

One common approach is to describe three stages:

  1. Pre-active dying: This stage occurs in the weeks or days leading to death. The individual may begin to withdraw from social interactions and activities and spend more time sleeping or in a state of altered consciousness. They may also experience physical symptoms such as weakness, fatigue, and loss of appetite.
  2. Active dying: This stage occurs in the hours or days immediately preceding death. The individual may experience changes in their breathing pattern, such as shallow or irregular breathing or periods of apnea (temporary cessation of breathing). They may become less responsive and spend more time sleeping or in altered consciousness. Other physical changes may occur, such as decreased body temperature and skin color and texture changes.
  3. Post-death: This stage occurs after death has occurred. The individual’s body will begin to decompose, and funeral arrangements must be made.

It’s important to note that the timing and progression of these stages can vary depending on the individual and their medical condition and that not all individuals will experience all of these stages. Hospice care providers are skilled in assessing the individual’s condition and providing guidance and support to the individual and their family during this difficult time.